facebook

Facebook launched a new “Profile Lock” feature today. Users are now able to “lock” their profiles. It prevents anyone ‘non-friends’ with them from viewing any content shared by them on Facebook or expanding, downloading their profile picture.

Facebook has taken its user’s privacy seriously after it was accused of gathering and sharing information online. It is called the Facebook -Cambridge Analytica Data Scandal. The scandal was reported to be the biggest data breach in Facebook to date. The breach scuffled the company, which led to a series of Security and Privacy updates. The newest addition to it is the Facebook Profile lock.

Social media giant Facebook released a new security update in India. It is designed especially for “women” who want more control over their information on Facebook. It comes as a successor to the Profile Picture Guard which was launched three years ago. The “Profile Lock” security update is rolled out keeping the user’s feedback into account.

Roxna Irani, Product Manager at Facebook stated “We started first with the profile because that was the picture that women were most nervous about being downloaded and shared. And so that’s when we first launched profile picture guard. And then over time, we realized it extends beyond the current profile picture to other photos as well” on a video call.

In another statement, Ankhi Das, Public Policy Director, Facebook India said “We are committed to providing a safe platform for people to express themselves. Also, we are deeply aware of the concerns people in India, particularly women, have about protecting their online profile. Today, we are announcing a new feature which, in one easy step, will give people a lot more control, ensure their privacy, and keep them safe and secure online.”

What Is Profile Lock Feature?

The Profile Lock feature adds another layer of security to users’ profiles on Facebook. When the Facebook profile lock is enabled, ‘non-friends’ cannot download, share, or zoom-in users’ full-size profile photos or even the cover photo. Similarly, users can neither see the latest photos and posts nor the older photos and posts on the locked account timeline. A blue badge will appear on the profile which means the profile is locked.

The old public posts can only be viewed by friends. In addition, a new public post can only be made when the profile is unlocked again. Every time a user tries to post publicly, a pop-up will appear reminding them the Facebook Profile Lock is ON. However, users can still be tagged in posts, but it won’t appear on the timeline of the user until he/she allows it.

Moreover, It is still unclear whether non-friends will be able to message via messenger to the locked profiles.

As of now, this feature is limited to the India only. But, not at all limited only to women in India. In simpler words, men can also use the Facebook Profile Lock feature.

How to enable the Lock?

Facebook ProfileLock
Facebook Profile Lock

The feature is rolling out gradually. But, you can check and enable it by tapping ‘More’ under your Facebook name or you can tap the three dots appearing next to your name. If you spot the ‘Lock Profile’ select it. Again, select ‘Lock your Profile’ to reaffirm. And DONE! You have successfully locked your profile!

To Unlock your profile, tap ‘Your profile is locked’ under your Facebook name. Select Unlock your profile and DONE! You have successfully unlocked your profile.

Subscribe to us through the newsletter on our homepage to get notified of the latest articles we post and also make sure to follow our TwitterFacebook, and Instagram pages for more interaction with us.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here